Spreading the L.O.V.E….

November 10, 2008 ladyknowledge

Love motivates and inspires a lot of good in the world. My mother always told me that in order to love someone else you must first learn how to love your self. I am not sure if I fully understand Kants view on self love, but it seems to me that if I did something out of love for myself and it happens to do good then the outcome and the action would be null and voided. I do agree that we should be more self less. Sort of like tithing, an example that was brought up in class, I believe that more members do it not because they want to return to the Lord what is rightfully his. Instead they return it out of duty and fear, if they don’t tithe faithfully they may not make it to heaven. In a congregation like mine, not only is your soul on the line if you don’t tithe but you can also face disciplinary actions within the church as well. In my opinion, I don’t even think I agree completely with this either, but all that should matter is that I am returning my 10%. Not why but the fact that it was done. This may sound nasty but about 85% of the time that I cleaned my room, was out of fear that my mom would punish me if I didn’t. It was still clean and we weren’t embarrassed when we had company!!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts